Friday, January 6, 2012

End of Season Awards

The 2011 NFL regular season is over and it is time to take a look at who deserves the team awards for the Seattle Seahawks.

Rookie of the Year — Doug Baldwin. 
He led the team in receptions and yards as an undrafted free agent. He is a smart football player who easy finds the soft spots in zone coverage. Runner up: Richard Sherman. This fifth rounder was forced into duty after two other corners were injured and he never looked backbecoming the team's best corner. A bright future for both Stanford products. 

Most Improved Player — Kam Chancellor. 
This fifth rounder in 2010 saw very limited action his rookie year only to become a starter and a standout in year two. He demonstrated a much needed toughness that prior Seahawk teams only dreamt about, and quickly became one half of a very young and talented safety tandem. Runner Up: Max Unger. He anchored the patchwork o-line all year starting every game and making all the calls for the unit. His steady presence allowed the young line to get better with even game.

Comeback Player — Brandon Browner. 
After playing in Canada and not getting a chance in the NFL for 3+ years the Hawks signed him to a futures contract in January 2011 with little to lose. He became an opening day starter and led the team in interceptions. He played the run as aggressively as he played the pass and he was rewarded by his peers as a pro-bowl alternate. Most Importantly he is the reason the Hawks traded Kelly Jennings (which yielded Clint McDonald, too). Runners up: Leroy Hill and Red Bryant. Both players rebounded after season ending injuries in 2010.

Most Disappointing Player — Zach Miller. 
A big time Free Agent acquisition with major expectations after some big years with Oakland. By no fault of his own, he was kept in to block most of the time and Tarvaris Jackson tends to favor sideline throws. While his play was fine, he made little impact25 catches and no TDs. Not good. Runner up: Sidney Rice. Health has been a concern given his huge deal, and it proved to be the case again. He played in only 9 games having just 32 catches and 2 TDs. He was not healthy in many of those 9 games either. Lets hope he does not win this category next season.

Defensive MVP — Earl Thomas. 
In just his second year he is shaping up to be everything that was advertised about the #14 overall pick. He is a leader of the secondary making calls and getting everyone into position. He made a ton of tackles and was very stron supporting the run. Runner up: Chris Clemons. He continues to get to the QB (11 Sacks) and is surprisingly strong against the run.

Offensive MVP — Marshawn Lynch. 
Beast Mode. 'Nuff said.

1 comment:

  1. Looking ahead to next year's End of Season Awards, is there any chance that a new quarterback, not yet on the Hawks' roster, will garner an award for leading the Hawks to the playoffs? Me thinks not.